Oscars Red Carpet 2014!

They won, they lost…but they all looked stunning!

Here is my run down of the top hair & makeup looks from last night- in no particular order! (But Lupita is definitely top!)

·         Lupita Nyango



  First of all: Wow. Just wow. This lady has not taken a step wrong this award season, she has blown me and just about everyone else away every time she sets foot on the red carpet.   Her skin is just gorgeous- luminescent.   Here Lupita keeps her eyes minimal with a simple cat eye and was one of the only stars to don a red lip this year (hard to see in this pic, but on the live coverage it is a red lip!)   Her short hair is clean and natural, the Alice band adds to the princess feel of the dress-without her just coming out in a tiara! –which I feel she could also have pulled off beautifully!

·         Anna Kendrick

A clean up-do! We did not see many of those last night! And a hot coral pink lip? And a dramatic eye! This made such a change to the nude lips and minimal eyes that were on trend last night. Love it (and the dress….mmmmm!)

·         Kerry Washington



  What a yummy mummy! She looks so cute…so, so, so cute!   The half up do, with the cascade of loose waves paired with the dark lip gives this soft maternal look an edge and keeps it from looking overly ethereal (which can get slightly sickly on pregnant  ladies after a while!)

·         Cate Blanchett

I’m fairly sure she just wakes up this way…her makeup is clean and minimal and her hair falls effortlessly into this soft 40’s wave which lets this stunning dress do all the talking!

·         Sandra Bullock



  I am not always a Sandra fan, but I think she looked undeniably beautiful last night with her loosely curled hair draped over one shoulder and barely their lips matched with a smoky eye….it’s all very classic and very feminine.

    Olivia Wilde

·         Another mummy to be on the list! This time with a dramatic cat eye, the white line at the base of the flick makes it really pop-a fab trick and this messy up do keeps the high neckline of the dress clean and visible

·         Kate Hudson



  The dress….the dress….drool.   Her hair and makeup to me seems like an ode to old Hollywood (which is always at the Oscars!) it has that sultry Veronica Lake vibe about it which I just love.

Anne Hathaway

Anne and I have had a pretty rocky relationship recently…I think she is a stunning creature but her over exposure during the Les Miserables Oscar season left me tired and bored of her.

However…I saw this look…and I think we can get our relationship back on track. Her hair looks gorgeous in this swept back pixie cut (love how it’s grown out) and the nudey-soft-pink lip was one of the few matte lips I saw.

·         Angelina Jolie


If you read my Beauty Icons blog you will know I have a great love for Angelina, but she wasn’t actually going to grace this list, it was only when I found this picture that I was hard pushed to find a reason not to include her.

It’s a very clean and simple look –which I initially found a tad boring when I saw her pictured next to Brad, however in this close up you can see the silver shimmer eye shadow that subtly ties the whole look together. It’s a look that we have seen on her before but it works and is beautiful!

·         Rachel Smith

Ok…so…I kinda didn’t know who she was…I saw her picture, loved it then had to find out who she was! For those in the same boat Rachel is a former beauty queen and Miss USA 2007 who has been a reporter on E! and is a co-host on ABC’s OnTheRedCarpet (thank you Wiki!)

I love me a messy fishtail braid, but this just echoes the ruffles at the bottom of the dress so beautifully….I think it’s kinda genius, kudos to whoever came up with that!

Leave a Reply

